LPGA Tour 2020

LPGA Tour 2020

The LPGA Tour 2020 season got off to an exciting start with two of the first three events going into a playoff. When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, play was suspended with tournament after tournament cancelled or postponed. All told 14 tournaments including the Evian Championship have been cancelled, while 12 events, including the U.S. Women’s Open and CME Tour Championship have been postponed.

With the PGA Tour resuming play a few weeks ago, the ladies are set to resume as well next week, July 2 through August 2 for the Inaugural LPGA Drive On Championship. This 54-hole event takes place at Inverness Club in Toledo Ohio. The par 71, 6550-yard layout will be a stern test for the ladies, who will be playing for $1 million in prize money and 500 points towards the CME Race to the Globe.

So far this season, Gaby Lopez took the first event at the Diamond Resorts Tournament of Champions from January 16-19. She took down Nasa Hataoka and Inbee Park in a three-way playoff. Mi Jung Hur and Brooke Henderson finished a shot out of the playoff.

Heading to for the next event from January 23-26, Madelene Sagstrom from Sweden was victorious, finishing at 17-under par at the Gainbridge LPGA at Boca Rio. That was good enough for a one stroke win over Hataoka, two over Danielle Kang, and four over Celine Boutier.

Travelling to the land down under, the ladies took part at the ISPS Handa Vic Open in Victoria, Australia from February 6-9. Hee Young Park outlasted Hye-Jin Choi and So Yeon Ryu in a three-way playoff. The trio was one shot ahead of Leona Maguire and Linnea Strom.

The LPGA is set to play 17 events between now and December 20. While golf will return, it will be played without sponsors, pro-ams or spectators. Everyone involved will continue to have to follow strict COVID-19 protocols to get through the rest of the season.

Currently, Inbee Park leads in the Race to the Globe, followed by Sagstrom, Hee Young Park, and Gaby Lopez. Park also heads the money list, followed by Hataoka, Lopez, and Hee Young Park. The ladies are also playing to move up in the Rolex Rankings. Currently, Jin Young Ko holds the number one spot, followed by Nelly Korda, Sung Hyun Park, Danielle Kang and Nasa Hataoka. Rounding out the top ten are Sei Young Kim, Brooke Henderson, Minjee Lee, Lexi Thompson, and Hyo-Joo Kim.

What do you think?

5 points
Upvote Downvote